Thanksgiving is over and the Christmas season has officially begun! My decorations are up – though some need tweaking – my movies are out and ready to watch, and my CDs for the season have taken the spots in my holder usually kept for my favorite artists.

In my player at the moment is my favorite group of all time, Selah, singing their Christmas songs. They have some of the best versions, in my opinion, of Silent Night and O Come, O Come Emmanuel, but there’s one song on the CD I just can’t get past: Mystery.

It speaks of how amazing it is that God, knowing how much it would cost, still created us. He has suffered heartache and grief, to the point of sending His Son to die for us. And that wasn’t just a whim. He knew long before the foundation of the world that it would happen, and yet He still created us.

The idea boggles the mind. If we knew something would cause us frustration and pain, we’d find every way to get out of it. But God didn’t. He created the world and us and said: it is good.

Why would He do that? For His glory and out of His great love which He loved us with! (Psalm 72:19, Ephesians 2:4)

So during this Christmas time, let’s not simply focus on a baby in a manger, but on what that beautiful Baby brought to us through His life, death, and resurrection. And let us never forget that the One who suffered for us deserves all the honor and praise, not just during Christmas, but all our lives long.

To God be the glory!

