When someone asks who you are, how do you answer? Normally it’s with your name; which, of course, is typically what they want to know. Around here, in order to know you better, the next questions will be: ‘Who’s your momma?’ and/or ‘Where do you work?’ But have you ever sat and really thought about who you are?

Is who we are tied up in who our parents are? Is it how we make our money? Or how we spend our free time?

Depending on the situation it can have many answers. I’m a singer on Sundays at Church. I’m a writer. I’m a tea drinker. I’m a pet-owner, who adores her little Yorkie! I’m a daughter. I’m a sister. I’m an aunt. I’m a friend.

But are all of these things who I am?

Psalm 139:13-14, 16 says: For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well… Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. (ESV)

God molded each and every one of us, knitting together our physical makeup in a way that no one else could. He formed our personalities and knew us before we were even conceived. The Creator of the vast universe looks down on us and lovingly forms us as He wants us to be.

Am I a singer? Yes. Am I a writer? Yes. Am I all the things I do and think? Yes, these all make up a part of me. But at the very core, who and what I am has very little to do with me and everything to do with who He made me to be.

If God takes such care to individually create us, wouldn’t it then follow that He wants individual relationships with us, as well? Why would He take all that time if He didn’t care? The answer is that He does care. He loves us with a love we can’t come close to comprehending, and He wants us to share in His plans for our lives. The best way to do that is to bow before Him and quite simply ask.

There’s no need to introduce yourself, remember, God formed you! He knows you better than you know yourself. There’s no need to approach timidly and scared. He loves you! And there’s no need to fear He doesn’t want you. He wants us to know Him!

Isn’t it nice to know that God never has to ask: ‘Who’s your momma?’ He knows us and loves us, and He wants us to know and love Him as well! So maybe we should worry a little less about who we are in ourselves and think more on who we are in Him. After all, that’s what really matters.

