Lesson of the day: My trust is not in a job!

That’s a very hard lesson to learn, and it’s a very hard spot to be in. I’m a hard worker, and dependable. I’ve never worked what would be considered my ‘dream job’, but I’m a firm believer in doing your best at whatever line of work you happen to find yourself in.

I’ve worked everything from retail to food to warehouse to sawmill. After several years off of work I’m getting a little nervous about not finding another job. ‘Nervous’ isn’t quite the word, I think ‘stressed out of my mind’ works better; and when I get stressed, it isn’t pretty. (Don’t worry, I have plenty of people who don’t mind letting me know when I’m being a jerk!)

I didn’t make a New Year’s Resolution this year, which isn’t anything new because I haven’t made one in years. After so many times of resolutions not making it past the second week of January, I found them to be a waste of time. But I felt that I needed a change this year and considered making a resolution. In the end I came to the conclusion that making a decision would be a much better idea. Or maybe a better word is commitment.

So, January 1st I made a commitment before God to let Him have control of this year. I decided to lay it all (including finding a job) before Him and not let myself get in the way. I decided to change habits, such as getting myself onto a schedule that would help me become more productive. I decided to do my part while praying and trusting that God would lead me.

I was happy when I left the house this morning, praying that the Lord would direct my steps as I went job hunting. The result? One closed store, three retail chains who gave me looks like I was crazy and the same response: ‘Its January, no retail is hiring. We’re laying off’, and one store that didn’t even have applications, but took my name and number.

And my reaction? I’ll be honest, I didn’t come home with smiles and claiming that the Lord would provide. I came home mad wondering why God wouldn’t give me a job. Doesn’t He know I have bills to pay? Doesn’t He know I need to pull my weight? Doesn’t He know I’m putting a strain on my family by not being able to help out financially?

Yeah, not very trusting is it? Basically what I was telling God was this: I know You say You’ll provide for Your children, but You have to give me a job so I can provide for myself.

Only two days in and I’m already trying to take my commitment back. A few years ago I would have gotten seriously depressed and gave up. I can’t do that now. Giving up and going into conniption fits hasn’t really served me well in the past, so I don’t think I want to keep going down that same path. I’ve got to start trusting God in more than words if I ever want grow.

That’s easier said than done, but the Christian life was never meant to be easy. It was meant to be rewarding. I want to know God, and if that takes me learning how to trust even when I can’t pay the bills, then that’s what I’m going to have to do.

Look what the Bible says about God providing for us:

Matthew 7:11-“If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!”

Luke 12:24– “Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds!”

Jesus said that we are valuable to God. Sometimes it may feel like He’s abandoned us or not fulfilling a need in the way we think He should, but that’s far from true. Sometimes my puppy thinks I’m being cruel because I won’t give him any of my supper. He doesn’t understand that what I’m eating could be potentially toxic to him. I think, in the same way, sometimes we want things that could be toxic to us; but God knows better. He doesn’t hold things back because He doesn’t love us, it’s precisely the opposite!

The important thing to remember is that He is sovereign, and while we may have to wait for something we think we need now, if we just trust Him like we should we’ll see that we have all we need and more!

Are you trusting God for something today? How have you seen His provision in your life?

