Crazy Love by Francis Chan was released a few years ago, 2008 to be precise. I realize I’m a little late in getting to this and perhaps everyone but me read it a long time ago, but it impacted me so I wanted to get my thoughts out on it.

I can, and quite often do, read through a book in one sitting. This was one book where I couldn’t put it down at times and then other times I had to. It was overwhelming, to say the least. I’ve read other reviews which seemed to sway from one extreme to the other, either loving or hating Crazy Love. Fortunately, I didn’t read any reviews of the book before I bought it. I just bought it and read it, and I’m very glad I did.

Yes, parts were very difficult to read, but I didn’t get the feeling I was being condemned. I felt like I was being sifted or sent through the furnace. That’s a time for being purified. Of course it’s going to hurt, but the reward on the other side is far more valuable than a little pain now. And there’s a very inspiring and uplifted chapter listing amazing true stories. After reading those I felt as if I truly could live a life completely devoted to God.

My final vote on Crazy Love? It rekindled my fire for God and my desire to truly know Him. The apostle Paul knew God very well, yet he still said his desire was to know Him. If Paul never had enough of God, then I don’t think I ever want to have ‘just enough’ of Him, either. I want every day to know Him more and more. And Crazy Love helped me find a Biblical focus for drawing near to God.

For more information about Francis Chan, check out his site: http://crazylovebook.com/index.html

