I’m sorry for the lack of updates lately. I’m one of those people who tend to shut down when overwhelmed. When there’s a lot on my mind I pull out my notebook and write out my emotions in fiction. I never know at that point if what I’m writing will end up in a story; it’s more just so I can release what’s got my head spinning in circles. If I can’t figure out what to write, I tend to do nothing at all. I stare at the TV not caring what I’m watching and not really even thinking.

The past week has been filled with disappointments at work and a mix of staring at the TV and a little writing at home. What brought on this sudden state of being overwhelmed was the death of an 18-year-old boy who was a very great friend. I’d taught him in preteen Sunday school at church. I’d watched him grow up. He’d just started his first job the night before the accident that claimed his life. And on top of it all, the newspaper can’t seem to get their facts right and didn’t even bother to dig deeper to find out the whole story.

It was a devastating loss for those of us left behind and only compounded by the paper placing blame when the investigation hasn’t even been completed yet.

I guess this is a random post, and I’m sorry about that. I don’t know what else to write. I don’t have any insight right now. I can’t find a lesson in here to express what God’s shown me. I don’t doubt Him, but I don’t understand this. And I don’t think I will this side of heaven.

My only comfort is that I know where my friend is. He was a great kid who touched everyone who knew him in a phenomenal way. And through all of this I reconnected with some of the other kids I taught in Sunday school. This has definitely reminded me why I loved teaching them so much, and how much I miss them.

If there’s anything to be learned here, I guess it’s a lesson as old as time. We don’t know how long we have. We don’t know when our last goodbye to someone will be the final goodbye. So, as my dad says: keep short accounts with people. Never let the sun go down on your anger. Never let an opportunity pass to show someone you love them.

While I can’t say this for everyone I’ve lost in my life, I’m thankful that I have no regrets where he’s concerned. I’m thankful that my memories of him will bring a smile to my face for the rest of my life.

For a little insight into this kid, he was an anime fanatic (much like myself) and a Star Wars fan. He’d show up randomly at our house in gorilla suits or full Darth Vader garb – complete with light saber. He knew how to live life and never bothered trying to be something he wasn’t. He made his own way and you couldn’t help but laugh or smile when you were with him. There were no cliques with him, no one too good or not good enough for him to talk to. He wasn’t perfect, but he was one of the most respectable people I’ve ever known.

Anthony Warren, the world may never know your name, but there are hundreds of people in Lawrence and Giles counties who will never forget it. May you rest in peace in the arms of Jesus. May the force be with you.

